NewsSports

Bold Controversy Over Free Hit: What do the ICC rules say?

In the Super 12 stage of the Twenty20 World Cup 2022, the issue of runs being scored after Virat Kohli was bowled on a nine-ball and a free hit in the last over became controversial.

After India’s victory against Pakistan in the ICCT Twenty World Cup 2022, questions have started to arise over Bai’s three runs on a free hit in the last over of the match.

India needed 16 runs in the last over against Pakistan, Nawaz took the wicket of Pandya on the first ball, a single on the second ball, and two runs on the third.

India needed 13 runs on the last three balls, in such a situation, a West Height ball of Nawaz was declared a no-ball by the umpires, thus the Indian team got a free hit.

Kohli was bowled on the free-hit ball, but Kohli ran away and completed three runs these runs were added to the bye, and there is a debate on social media as to why it was not declared a dead ball after the ball hit the wicket.

According to Section 20 of the ICC Playing Conditions, a ball can be declared a dead ball when it lands in the hands of the wicketkeeper or bowler, a boundary is scored, when the batsman is out or the ball is in the clothing of a player or umpire. Get stuck or the ball hits the spider cam or its string.

In the light of the rules, Virat Kohli was not out on the free hit because a bowled ball on a free hit is not considered to be out, Virat Kohli was aware of these rules and that was the reason why he ran away, and completed three runs as the ball hit the bat. She went ahead without being touched so the runs were counted as a bye.

Back to top button